Diego, for those who don’t know, is Dora the Explorer’s cousin.  He has his own show which is on Lizzie’s favorite channel, Nick Jr.  Usually when I set up Lizzie’s feedings at home, I put her in her wheelchair and turn on either Nick Jr., or a Disney video for her to watch.  Yesterday, when I went to unhook her feeding, I went in her room and Diego and his sister were singing “Clap, clap, clap,” repeatedly.  Much to my shock, my daughter was clapping along!  I have never seen Lizzie mirror or follow directions from anything by choice, let alone a TV show that is not actively trying to get her to interact.  I asked her, “Lizzie, were you clapping?”  She smiled at me, and started clapping.  Really clapping!  Not just the maybe hit or miss occasional clap, but active clapping.  I almost cried.  I think that this may be related to our weaning the phenobarbital, and may be a new skill developing.  I started to think about how, if she can mirror actions, maybe speech may start to develop, too.  I am so excited to see what may lay ahead.

