My daughter never ceases to amaze me.  There are times that this girl really blows my mind.  This morning was one of those times.  I have never gone with the assumption some people make, that Lizzie doesn’t understand things.  If there is something I think she needs to know, I will explain it to her.  This morning, for example, I woke up with a very unusual flare up of my rheumatoid arthritis in my left wrist.  I usually don’t have hand or wrist issues, and today it was pretty severe.  There have been days, where Lizzie has grabbed my arm hard and unintentionally injured an already sore hand, so I decided to let her know what was going on.  When I got up, I had put a muscle rub on my wrist and put the neck of  a black sock over it, so that it won’t get on anything and to keep the heat in.  I explained to Lizzie that the wrist with the sock was very sore today, and if she could avoid grabbing it that Mommy would appreciate it.  While I was getting her dressed, Lizzie grabbed that socked hand above the sock, and pulled on it.  I gently removed her hand and said, “No.”  Lizzie looked at me, tilted her head back and stuck out her tongue in her kissing position.  I was the one who was confused in the moment.  I looked at her, and held out my wrist.  My daughter leaned in gently and kissed my wrist!  She was kissing my boo boo.  I wanted to cry.  I asked her if she was kissing my boo boo, and she smiled at me.  Don’t tell me my girl doesn’t understand.  Then when I gave her my hands to pull herself to sit, she pulled only on my good arm, and barely held on to the bad one which is the only side she usually uses.  I was floored.  My girl is awesome!

